top of page

Chopin & Cake

Hello everyone!

On Sunday 28 May I had the chance to attend one of the most amazing events I have ever been to.

The event's poster

It was so amazing especially because of the unique place it was held in - the Britannia Panopticon Music Hall at Trongate, Glasgow - and more specifically because it also involved Chopin music and... well, cake. Rich, moist, tantalising chocolate cake, which I didn't get the chance to photograph and show you, as I was hypnotised by the nocturnes and waltzes and other works of my favourite composer that talented Mira Opalinska played so beautifully.

Mira played on George, a lovely piano about to become 100 years old as I heard, and after Mira's performance, I couldn't resist but getting to know George better. He has a lovely, sturdy touch and his voice is still strong, clear and moving. The acoustics in the hall are simply amazing due to the high ceiling and the amphitheatric design of the balcony.

I greatly enjoyed playing Chopin's first Nocturne Op. 9 No. 1 in B flat minor and it sent chills down my spine. When people clapped, blinded by the lights, I imagined the hall being full, everybody on the balcony seats giving a standing ovation. There were indeed quite a few people, so I'm not exaggerating really (except maybe for the balcony part!), but it must have been the magic of the place that made me dream.

I went back to my seat with a huge smile on my face. I absolutely love how it carries the aura of another era and the glorious props and costumes on stage are still standing there bright and colourful as ever, jolly music to your ears if you close your eyes and allow yourself to feel the charm of this gem of a hall.

The Britannia Panopticon Music Hall is the oldest surviving music hall in the world. It was built in 1857 by Thomas Gildard and H. M. McFarlane. Glasgow was the Second City of the British Empire back then! The Panopticon was one of the first buildings in Glasgow to become powered by electricity and one of the first cinemas in Scotland.

Nowadays, it is being conserved by a trust of lovely people who regularly perform traditional shows in the auditorium to help the Panopticon get heating and prevent it from closing down. They are running a GoFundMe campaign to raise money so they can install a three-phase electricity supply.

If you'd like to support them, follow the link to the campaign: https://www.gofundme.com/2rhcqqk?ssid=750997913&pos=5

Read more about the Panopticon's history here: https://www.britanniapanopticon.org/history/

Other events include Silent Movie Nights, Open Days, Victorian Séances, Comic Marts, Variety Shows and the The Drag-Opticon Show.

You can find them on Facebook and visit their website for more events: https://www.britanniapanopticon.org/

I will be definitely joining them in future events. Chopin & Cake will be repeated on June 18th, July 23rd, August 27th, September 24th

Doors open 1.30pm and the show starts at 2pm. Looking forward to this!

bottom of page