top of page

Coffee & Meringue

Hello there! This is DeLiz. Welcome to my first colourful, joyful, yummy sweet blog entry (all of this at once, yuss! I've been waiting for this for a long time..)

Yesterday I went with a good friend to a café I hadn't been before. Kember & Jones is on Byres Road at the West End of Glasgow and oh well... It lived up to my expectations and maybe even more!

It was a lovely sunny day, a bit rare for Glasgow, but the weather has been kind to us lately. We sat by the huge glass window to catch the few last sunrays of the evening and of course it took me a while to order, as I can never choose between all the deLizious cakes, muffins, scones and brownies. This time, we spotted the meringues and they were the winners.

I ordered a latte and a meringue and my friend got a teapot of Lapsang souchong and a slice of pistacchio and rosewater cake. I'm not quite fond of its smoky smell, but the choice of cake was excellent.

Oh, the meringue... I mean, look at this! It's huge! My jaw dropped when they brought it to me and then my eyes filled with little glittery hearts.

Wait, there's more.. Can you imagine the sound it made when I cracked it with my spoon? I couldn't help but crack it before taking the first picture, as soon as they laid it on the table!

It was so crispy and fresh, the soft fluffy peaks baked to purrfection, crispy from the outside, soft and creamy-dreamy from the inside.

The meringue was served on a nest of cream and assorted berries - yummy juicy strawberries, raspberries and blueberries. Those colours, too. I just loved the contrast of white and crème with the berry red and blue. Talk about an eyecandy!

Every spoonful was different, as you can combine it with the cream and the fruit and trust me, those were a lot of spoonfuls. I couldn't finish it. Yup, not ashamed to admit it, but pliz check out the photo I took with my hand for scale. I ended up taking the rest of it with me at home (no way I would leave it there!)

Dreamy creamy at the inside - I couldn't stop digging in! It reminds me of fluffy clouds here. They also sell a selection of tempting deli products, nicely arranged on the shelves across the counter.

Dreamy at the inside!

My hand for scale... I couldn't resist. Also, I couldn't help but noticing the delizcate carameLized bit that had formed at the bottom crust. I pro..crust..inated a bit looking at it before eating the rest!

Other lovely marshmallowy treats and macaroons. Those lovely colours, too...

Other lovely marshmallowy treats and macaroons

Happy DeLiz at the end of the day! Posing with my meringue, I couldn't but wear this wide satisfied grin on my face. Big thanks to my friend for the lovely company, as sweet as a meringue!

Happy DeLiz at the end of the day!

bottom of page