top of page

Mini Cheese Pies

Hello people!

How have you been? I will be sharing with you today my first recipe on the blog! Hip - elbow - hooray! I'm really excited as it is a Greek recipe, mini cheese pies: they are called ''tyropitakia'', which literally means exactly that, as ''tyri'' means cheese and ''pitakia'' is a diminutive for pies. I love it as a quick snack, either at home or as packed lunch or well... any time of the day that you are feeling peckish actually! (Hm, this is me 24/7).

*Intermission* Have I told you how wonderful the weather has been lately? Of course we've had lots of rain, but a handful of good warm days too (my new standard of warm is at 17°C). Seems like I'm getting to love autumn more and more! More lovely autumny pics to follow when the crazy fall colours kick in all over Glasgow! Can't wait...

Since it is a Greek recipe, I should use Greek ingredients, right? Right. And where and how do I find them in the UK? Well, I have it all figured out, don't fret. First of all, most Greek recipes require olive oil. Greece is famous for its rich olive oil and I never buy it from the supermarket. So I brought some from home and it's what I'm using for my cooking! Secondly, feta. I couldn't possibly bring this with me, so I searched until I found the best (or close enough!) and I can tell you that you can find pretty decent feta in Waitrose. The first time I bought it I couldn't stop eating it as soon as I opened it. Yes, it was that good. Then, we will need some Greek yoghurt. Thank the Gods (yes, all of them) that I could find Total in the supermarkets here. What, ''Liz is very picky''? When it comes to food, I don't compromise. But my special requirements stop here, so let us proceed to the recipe!

You will need:

350 gr flour

200 gr Greek yoghurt

150 gr feta

5-8 tbsp olive oil

1 egg

a pinch of salt

a tbsp elbow grease

pepper, spearmint (optional)

Here we go!

Use a bowl to mix the flour with the oil (you could use melted butter if you prefer, but no you don't). Add a pinch of salt and slowly but gently (you could also whisper tender words like ''mm you look so fresh and cool'') add the yoghurt to the flour mix. Now, playtime: Use your hands to work the dough (let me work it like Missy Elliott does) until everything is well combined. No spoons! Get messy and enjoy it! That's the whole point of kneading dough. That way, you can also feel the refreshingly cool temperature that the yoghurt gives to the dough, I just couldn't help playing with it. I'm telling you, yoghurt dough is... legendairy...

Cover with cling film and let it rest for 10-20 minutes (preferably in the fridge). We can't have a tired dough, people. We just can't. You can rest, too. You deserve it.

Meanwhile (enough with resting) you can prepare the cheese filling. Are you ready for the yumminess? Grab a small bowl and crack the egg in it, keeping just a wee bit of the egg white for later (we will need to brush the top of the cheese pies with it just before we pop them in the oven). With your fingers, crumble the feta and stir until combined. I love adding some spearmint too, I believe it pairs with cheese so well and it also reminds me of Cyprus, so extra points for that.

On the left, a bit of egg white with some water for brushing the cheese pies at the end. On the right, the cheese filling. Oh, the feeling, too.

Ok, so we have a rested dough ready to roll *ba dum tss*. Roll your sleeves (or not, if you are in Greece) and grab your rolling pin. Don't worry if you don't have one, a tall glass or jar will do just fine. I've done this way too many times before actually owning a rolling pin and it's actually fun. You don't need cookie cutters either, I use a glass to cut the dough into small circles. (Disclaimer: this is not your typical cookie-cutter recipe.)

Let's start rolling! The thinner the better. This is the part where you add elbow grease.

Once thin enough, use your glass to cut into circles that we will later thin down a bit more.

We want them thin enough, because they rise and burst, so they need space to breathe. That means you need to be careful with the filling. Don't overdo it (like I do). I always get too excited about it and put in more than I should. Like I did this time as well. Use a fork to shape the edges if you like (me likey).

Before you actually start filling your little cutie pies, this is a good time to preheat the oven at 200°C. Or 451°F

(this is Ray Bradbury's suggestion in his version of the recipe, I don't actually condone this).

Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown, just like The Stranglers prefer their cheese pies.

Yay, this time I made a few round ones too! I really like how they look. Top image: As you can see the middle one got a little cheese tumour. (I also have a great sense of tumour). Bottom image: More cheese tumours and burst insides! (Can you tell that I'm looking forward to Halloween?) Actually those close-to-burnt ends are the most deLizious part ever.

I hope you enjoyed it, I know I did! My dear friends who got to taste them gave me really good reviews and also a little cheese pie dance, which actually made my day. Until my next post, enjoy! Let me know if you get to try it! Ta-ta!

bottom of page