top of page

Leek Risotto

Dear hungry friends,

What are you cooking today? If you like simple Greek dishes and if you... like leeks like I do, then you came to the right place. I can guarantee that you will like it so much that you will... leek your plate clean. It is highly unleekly that you won't like it. I for once really leek this dish, I leek it a lot.

It is a pretty simple yet majestic dish in its aromas and fresh combination of fragrant ingredients, just amazing in its simpleekcity. The only problem I had to... dill with, was that it dish-appeared and there was none left!

In Greek, we call it prassórizo which literally means leek (prasso) rice (rizo).

You will need:

1 tbsp olive oil

150 gr long-grain rice

1 onion

1 big leek

a small bunch of spring onions

salt, pepper

spearmint (optional)

lemon

chopped dill

 

Start by cutting the leek lengthwise in order to slice it more easily.

 

Cut the onions too and add them to a pan with some olive oil.

 

Simmer over low heat for a few minutes until soft and slightly caramelised.

Add the rice, continuously stirring for a minute before you add the water.

 

Add some extra water as it will get easily absorbed.

 

Now is a good time to add salt and pepper to taste. I know I said you don't need much for this recipe,

but my little secret (ok, not so secret) is a bit of dried spearmint, too (or fresh if you have some!)

 

I don't know if I've told you before how much I love spearmint (I have),

but it gives this special kick in the flavour that will make your dish... incredible..!

Lower the heat and let cook for approximately 20 minutes like you would cook simple rice. Add some dill and leave some to serve.

 

Some use stock, but honestly, I don't find that it needs additional flavour - like I said, it will be really aromatic and complete on its own.

When water is absorbed, check to see that the rice is fully cooked.

 

Add some lemon and some dill on top and enjoy. Serve with some feta too if you leek.

bottom of page