top of page

Fluffy Apple Pie

Hello people!

What a lovely day for a lovely pie!

Yesterday I was feeling a bit peckish and well, I also have lots and lots of apples at home, so I made an apple pie. But not just *any* apple pie! A fluffy one! Then, as I was mixing the ingredients (this is the part when I just get lost into my thoughts), I started thinking if I could make any puns with this one, and I came up with fluffle pie. Then, I googled it and it's a completely different thing, so... pun dismissed. Can you help me out with this one?

As you can see, my attempt to get rid of a few apples did not really come through. I still have like a dozen. (Who wants an apple pie?!)

For this recipe, you will need:

3-4 apples

230 gr. unsalted butter

340 gr. sugar

2 eggs

420 gr. self-raising flour

2 tsp baking powder

120 gr. milk

dash of vanilla

3 tsp cinnamon

Quarter, core, peel and slice the apples. You can either do cubes or slices - I did slices as I used Lady Pink apples and they do tend to soften quite a bit.

Using a hand mixer, beat the butter until fluffy - make sure that it reaches room temperature. Slowly add the sugar and beat well.

Add the eggs one at a time and beat well. Then comes the flour with the baking powder. Like in other recipes, if we want our fluffle... eehm, apple pie to be fluffy, we need to sift the flour. Well, I didn't! So, imagine how flufflilicious it will be if you do, people! (Pliz do.)

One thing that gets on me nerves when I look up recipes is when they do not mention that you have to preheat the oven (which is most of the times).

*This is a good time to preheat the oven at 180° C, people*

I really can't stand it. Then, you get to the end of the recipe and you have to wait, huffing and puffing, until the oven reaches the desired temperature. You start gazing out the window, going round the house, dipping your fingers in the mixture until it significantly lessens... This is when I start looking like Iris the Egyptian, repeating 'By Osiris and by Apis, look at me. You are now preheated'. Works every time.

Don't forget the vanilla! Lovely aroma that will pair beautifully with the caramelised apple scent that will flood your kitchen.

The last step is to add the milk and the cinnamon and make sure everything is well incorporated into the mixture.

Now I didn't opt for the open face apple pie - I did it the last time and it was amazing, but I thought I should try something different and ... fluffier!

The open face one I called it the Postmodern Apple Pie, because of the little reds bleeding here and there - you guessed it! Lovely juicy strawberries - an experiment well-executed.

So I poured the apples in the texture and stirred well. Then, I lined a round tin with baking sheet and lightly buttered the sides. This will help against the caramelisation of the sides and will let you remove the tin more easily. The only reason why some of my sides look chipped is because I *just couldn't* wait and removed the tin within the first minute it came out of the oven. Oh, this unbelievable smell!

Pop this beauty in the oven for one hour and just find something interesting to do while you wait, because oh, the torture... I kept going back and checking every now and then.

I didn't have any ice-cream and the store was closed, but it paired beautifully with some thick Icelandic yoghurt. Hope you make it and if so, let me know. Enjoy!

The next morning, fluffle pie received some exciting feedback! I couldn't be happier!

bottom of page