top of page

Crispy cheese & spinach pie

Hi everyone!

It's been a while since a wrote a recipe! I've been trying a few things, mostly baking, but today I'll share with you a savoury pie that got me really excited! It's one of those traditional recipes that moms and grandmas love making (and we love eating)! I just love how my kitchen smells right now, as it is a rainy rainy day and I thought I should take advantage of the weather and make something hearty and nice!

The original recipe is by Mrs. Chrysa Kelly whose creations in the kitchen are absolutely stunning and a source of inspiration! There's a twist here though! Her recipe calls for feta cheese, while I used cheddar and spinach! I usually use feta as well, but ... I've never tried this combination before, so I thought I should give it a try and oh, it turned out well! I also used plain water instead of sparkling water. Glad I experimented after all!

You can find this recipe and lots and lots of others at her Zzcook blog! This is the link to the original recipe, written in Greek: http://zzcook.blogspot.co.uk/2016/01/blog-post_25.html

I absolutely love her blog and I'd like to thank her so much for the lovely recipes!

Here are the ingredients you will need:

(Makes a medium pie for 2 people. You can double the ingredients and make a bigger pie if you're having people over!)

150 gr lukewarm water

2 tsps olive oil

2 tsps white vinegar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp white sugar

300 gr self-raising flour

spinach and grated cheddar

butter

First, mix the dough. It should become soft and elastic with minimum stickiness to the hand. Put the flour in a mixing bowl and add the salt, sugar, oil and vinegar. Slowly add the water while mixing constantly until you see when to stop adding water. If you add too much water, add more flour at the end. Knead for a few minutes, but not too long, as the dough is already fluffy and soft thanks to the vinegar. Cover with towels and leave aside to rest for half an hour.

While it's resting, wash the spinach and saute in a pan with a little oil for a couple of minutes. Add salt, pepper and herbs if you like (I added mixed herbs and dried onion for extra aromatic stuffing!)

Next, take the dough and cut into 6 pieces (or more if you are really skilful!) Take some butter and hand stretch each piece into a thin circle.

*Btw this is a good time to preheat your oven at 220°C!*

Place onto your tray and gently push the dough to the sides to stretch it a bit more. Top with cheese, spinach and any salt or herbs and move on the next piece of dough! Each time you stretch a piece of dough, make sure you use enough butter. At the end, you will have six yummy layers with cheese and spinach stuffing in between.

Now that you are done with the layers, pinch the sides to the centre of the pie until a bundle is formed and turn it upside down to secure the centre. Make any design you like at the top with a knife so that it cooks through easily (the temperature will be quite high and it won't take long in the oven) and grease the top with some extra butter for crispiness.

The pie is ready to go in the oven! You won't believe how lovely the kitchen smells afterwards! Again, you will need lots of patience, but as I said, thankfully this one doesn't take as much in the oven. This varies according to the appliance - mine in a gas cooker and it needed about 35-40 minutes.

Hope you enjoy and you have a lovely Sunday! The rain has stopped now so I guess I'll go for a walk! See you soon!

bottom of page